Republic of Consciousness Prize Long List 2018

This year’s Republic of Consciousness Prize Long List has been announced by founder Neil Griffiths.  You can read the full article and see what Neil has said about each of the long listed books on the TLS here.


Here’s the long list, alphabetically by publisher.

Playing Possum by Kevin Davey (Aaaargh! Press)

Sorry to Disrupt the Peace by Patty Yumi Cottrell (And Other Stories)

The Gallows Pole by Ben Myers (Bluemoose Books)

An Overcoat by Jack Robinson (CB Editions)

Die, My Love by Ariana Harwicz, tr. Sarah Moses and Carolina Orloff  (Charco Press)

Gaudy Bauble by Isabel Waidner (Dostoevsky Wannabe)

Compass by Mathias Enard, tr. Charlotte Mandell (Fitzcarraldo Editions)

Blue Self-Portrait by Noémi Lefevbre, tr. Sophie Lewis (Les Fugitives)

We that are Young  by Preti Taneja (Galley Beggar Press)

Attrib. and other stories by Eley Williams (Influx Press)

Darker with the Lights on by David Hayden (Little Island Press)

In the Absence of Absalon by Simon Okotie (Salt Publishing)

The Iron Age by Arja Kajermo (Tramp Press)

Congratulations to all the writers, translators and publishers!


The Republic of Consciousness shortlist will be announced at Waterstones Manchester on the February 15, 2018. For more information, follow on twitter at @prizerofc or join the mailing list here: 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s